The Family History
The Beacon Falls Congregational Church originally gathered as a Methodist Episcopal Church in 1846, erecting our first church building adjacent to what is now Pinesbridge Cemetery. After this building was destroyed by fire, a new building was constructed on Main Street (this building later became the American Legion Hall and is now the home of Beacon Falls Pizza). In 1868, the Home Woolen Mill gave a site for a new church in the pine grove west of Wolfe Avenue where the current church building was completed in 1871 and dedicated on January 11, 1872.
In 1900 we voted to become a new independent ecclesiastical society, and in 1919 we voted to become Congregational. From 1957 to 2005 we were a member of The United Church of Christ, a merger of certain Congregational Christian Churches with certain Evangelical & Reformed churches. Today we are an independent Congregational Church, true to our rich heritage and history.